OnlineAutoDealerEd.com

Oregon Dealership Training Program

OnlineAutoDealerEd.com offers the highest quality of state-approved, expert driven content for future Oregon autodealers. Our online prelicense course covers the skills needed to be a successful autodealer, including teaching the basic fundamentals of autodealership and ownership, training in business management, reviewing trends, accounting, and covering Oregon state specific rules and laws. We also offer state approved continuing education courses so once you obtain your Oregon Auto Dealer's License, you can keep it up to date.

Choose how you prefer to study your course, whether on your desktop computer, laptop, or anywhere you take your mobile device.

$120 TOP SELLER

Oregon Auto Dealer Pre-License Training

clock hour icon 8h course

This all online state-approved course satisfies the Oregon pre-license education requirements to obtain the Oregon dealer license. Upon payment, you have instant access to your classroom.

4.7 731 Reviews
$100

Oregon 12 Hour Complete CE Package

clock hour icon 12h course

This all online state-approved course will satisfy all 12 hours of your Oregon Auto Dealer continuing education requirements and will cover the following subjects:

  • Ownership Documents
  • Operating a Dealership
  • Auto Transactions
4.5 293 Reviews
$35

Oregon 4 Hour Auto Dealer CE - Operating a Dealership

clock hour icon 4h course

This all online state-approved course will satisfy 4 hours (1 year) of your Oregon Auto Dealer continuing education requirements and will cover the following subjects:

  • Taxes, Recordkeeping, and Other Business Practices
  • Employer Obligations and Employee Rights
  • Auctions
  • Trends Within the Auto Industry
  • Business Plans
  • Much More
4.6 14 Reviews
$35

Oregon 4 Hour Auto Dealer CE - Ownership Documents

clock hour icon 4h course

This all online state-approved course will satisfy 4 hours (1 year) of your Oregon Auto Dealer continuing education requirements and will cover the following subjects:

  • General Title Requirements
  • Application for Title and Registration
  • Application for Replacement Title
  • Releases of Interest
  • Odometer Laws and Regulations
  • Much More
4.2 10 Reviews
$35

Oregon 4 Hour Auto Dealer CE - Auto Transactions

clock hour icon 4h course

This all online state-approved course will satisfy 4 hours (1 year) of your Oregon Auto Dealer continuing education requirements and will cover the following subjects:

  • Power of Attorney
  • Odometer-Related Expedite Title Process
  • Security Interest Perfection
  • Transitional Ownership Document
  • Consignments
  • Much More
4.6 14 Reviews

How to Get an Auto Dealer License in Oregon

Getting an Oregon auto dealer license isn’t an easy process, but it’s also not overly arduous. In just a handful of steps, you can knock out all of the to-dos to get your vehicle dealer license from the Oregon DMV.

What, exactly, are those steps? And, perhaps more importantly, how much work do they entail? In this guide, you’ll learn the ins and outs of the process to get an Oregon auto dealer license. Here’s your step-by-step path. 

 

Step 1: Complete the required pre-license education

Before you can get an auto dealer license, the DMV requires you to complete eight hours of pre-license education. This teaches you the basics of selling cars in Oregon, setting you up for success as a business owner who complies with state regulation.

You don’t need to sit in a classroom for eight hours to meet this requirement, either. You can take your pre-license education online for an Oregon car dealer license. This lets you complete the hours at your convenience from your computer, tablet, or even your smartphone. 

Once you finish your pre-license education hours, your education provider issues you a certificate of completion. You’ll need that, so hang onto it. 

 

Step 2: Get bonding and insurance

To protect your business and the customers you’ll serve, the DMV requires you to get both a surety bond and liability insurance. 

ORS 806.070 governs how much liability insurance you need. Get a policy with:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury coverage for one person
  • $50,000 in total bodily injury coverage
  • $20,000 in property damage coverage 

Make sure you get a certificate of insurance from your insurance provider because you’ll need it for your application.

Similarly, you need to find a bonding company and get a surety bond in the amount of $50,000. To prove you have the bond, you’ll need your bonding company to fill out 735-370B, which is page 7 of the dealer application packet PDF.

 

Step 3: Complete and submit your dealer application

Speaking of that packet, it gives you a bunch of information to help you complete the “Application for Three-Year Dealer Certificate,” which starts on page 3 of the PDF. 

Fill out the entire application. Make sure you read through all 12 pages because a lot of them provide helpful details to ensure you fill out the application correctly. 

Once you get this paperwork done, submit the application to the DMV along with:

  • Copies of photo IDs for all owners, partners, LLC members, and/or corporate officers
  • The form proving you have the $50,000 surety bond
  • Your liability insurance certificate
  • Your certificate of completion for your pre-license education
  • Your application fee ($1,187 plus $350 for any additional locations)

Submit all of the above by mail to the DMV at:

DMV Business Licensing Unit

1905 Lana Ave NE

Salem OR 97314

It usually takes 7 to 10 business days for the DMV to process applications. Wait until you hear back; you can’t legally open your dealership until they give you the green light and issue your auto dealer license. 

 

How to renew an Oregon Car Dealer's license:

  1. Complete a continuing education course: 12 Hour Complete CE Package, $100, every three years, or any of our 4 hour electives, $35, each per year.
  2. Pay the renewal fee to the Oregon DMV.
  3. Submit proof of bonding and insurance to the Oregon DMV.
  4. Provide to the DMV the names of partners or corporate officers under the license.